Ben Affleck, Jessica Chastain and Argo receive top honors from the Florida Film Critics Circle

Ben Affleck, Bryan Cranston in Argo

As a voting member of the Florida Film Critics Circle (FFCC), I’m excited to announce that Ben Affleck’s “Argo” was the overwhelming winner of the FFCC’s annual awards, taking home prizes for Best Picture, Best Director for Affleck and Adapted Screenplay for Chris Terrio.  It’s always nice when one of your favorite films of the year wins Best Picture and ARGO was certainly deserving.

Jessica Chastain and Daniel Day-Lewis won Best Actress and Best Actor awards for their work in ZERO DARK THIRTY and LINCOLN respectively.  Anne Hathaway won Supporting Actress for her emotional portrayal of Fantine in LES MISERABLES while Philip Seymour Hoffman, who was previously recognized by the group for his work in “Capote,” won Supporting Actor for his performance as a charismatic cult leader in THE MASTER.

In what might be the most exciting “upsets” of the awards, Roger Deakins (who had previously won the FFCC’s Cinematography honor for THE MAN WHO WASN’T THERE in 2001), won again this year for SKYFALL, while Rian Johnson won Original Screenplay for the sophisticated time traveling film, LOOPER.  Go to the next page for a complete rundown of winners.

Pages: 1 2

Popular News

Latest News

Latest Reviews

Latest Features

Latest Blu-Ray Reviews